January Happenings Norway Library

Hello, my name is Katherine and I will be blogging about what is happening at Norway Memorial Library. I will write about books, movies, and everything in between.

January is here and the holidays are behind us the decorations are put away, and hopefully those pesky pine needles are finally gone. You think “What to do now?” Well, if you like adventure why not come to the library on Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 6:00 pm and watch a movie full of twist and turns that will have you on the edge of our seat. The movie that will be shown is one of my favorites starring Harrison Ford & Sean Connery. Popcorn will be provided, and you can bring a portable camp chair with you. There will be two more movies this winter. Watch for more information about the movies in this blog or stop by the library.

We have welcomed 2016 and for us book lovers that means new books and to ensure you get your favorite author’s latest publication call the information desk at 743-5309 ext.1 and Julia or I will place a hold for you. If you are a fan of mysteries check out the web site Stop You’re Killing Me (http://www.stopyourekillingme.com/). I know the name is a little bit odd but you can find out when your favorite author will be publishing their next book. I frequently check out the web site for my favorite authors and then check Minerva to see if the book is in the system. If so, I place my hold and wait for it to arrive at the library.
I like to try out new recipes and for me January is the perfect month to try new soup recipes. Last year I found a delicious creamless broccoli soup recipe in The Pollan Family Table: The Best Recipes and Kitchen Wisdom for Delicious, Healthy Family Meals by Corky Pollan and her family. I love broccoli soup and this was easy to make. If you want to please share what your favorite soup is to get you through the chill of late winter.

2 thoughts on “January Happenings Norway Library

  1. Katherine, this will be a treat to read! I make a vegetarian pea soup that uses both whole dried peas and split peas. I use the Moosewood Cookbook recipe and enhance it wit a bit of Maine Applewood Smoked Salt. Hearty fare for a cold winter night!

    Like

Leave a Reply

